Defensive driving site - your source of information and the place to share your experience
 Home    Save Gas    Forums    Encyclopedia    Articles    Polls    Videos    
Our Videos

Most Viewed Video How
How to sit properly while driving - Low Res

Latest Video Driving
Driving around slippery corner in Croatia

Highest Rated Video Driving
Driving in Moscow

Main Menu
· Home
· Articles
· Driving Links
· Encyclopedia
· Forums
· Highway Surveys
· Mapquest Driving Directions
· Video Library

Drivers Info
Welcome, Anonymous
Nickname
Password
(Register)
Drivers Online:
Visitors: 42
Member Drivers: 0
Total: 42

View unanswered posts
View next topic
View previous topic
akstylish

PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2011 2:24 pm Reply with quote Back to top

I have been driving for about 5 years, but I still have to look at the speedometer at least every 5 seconds or so. It seems most other drivers with a similar amount of experience can tell the car's speed intuitively. It doesn't really bother me, but I've started riding a motorcycle recently, and I need to keep my eyes on the road all the time. Do you have some tips for this, other than the generic 'keep practicing' answer?(I do not know how I should practice anyway)
Astraist
Master Driver

PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2011 2:55 pm Reply with quote Back to top

A proper posture will change the speed perception and the ability to glance at the speedometer quickly. Other than that, the biggest shift in the perception of speed is done by our eyes. The necessary kind of visual acuity for driving is not intuitive for humans.

Try to adopt a more relaxed vision, without focusing the eyes forcifully. Try to shift the focus of your eyes further ahead, usually to the furthest point ahead where you can still see the road and traffic which on a highway might be a mile ahead. Use your peripheral vision to position yourself relative to hazards and to operate the controls. This point is tenfold more important on a bike, than it is in a car!