Defensive driving site - your source of information and the place to share your experience
 Home    Save Gas    Forums    Encyclopedia    Articles    Polls    Videos    
Our Videos

Most Viewed Video How
How to sit properly while driving - Low Res

Latest Video Driving
Driving around slippery corner in Croatia

Highest Rated Video Driving
Driving in Moscow

Main Menu
· Home
· Articles
· Driving Links
· Encyclopedia
· Forums
· Highway Surveys
· Mapquest Driving Directions
· Video Library

Drivers Info
Welcome, Anonymous
Nickname
Password
(Register)
Drivers Online:
Visitors: 47
Member Drivers: 0
Total: 47

View unanswered posts
View next topic
View previous topic
qkrtjdwls91

PostPosted: Wed Feb 16, 2011 8:57 pm Reply with quote Back to top

I am just learning to drive and I am having problem and is confused what to do with yellow lights... I this confusion costed me a ticket for running through a red light.

I know I am supposed to prepare to slow down on the yellow light, but then problem comes when I am traveling at around 40+ MPH (following speed limit) and the light changes to yellow when I am about 10-15 feet away from the intersection.

If I try to stop, then I end up stopping crossing the intersection line quite a bit...

and since the light turned yellow when I am quite a bit away from the intersection, I feel that it is very likely that it would turn red before I make it to the otherside...

What do I do? Is it okay to stop a quite a bit into the intersection even if my car would pass the intersection line?

Do I slow down before each intersection?

know when to slow down

Also, I am wondering if it is okay to slow down when I see red light far ahead of me so that when I reach the light it turns green

Last edited by qkrtjdwls91 on Thu Feb 17, 2011 12:22 pm; edited 1 time in total
myownworld
Site Admin
Site Admin

PostPosted: Thu Feb 17, 2011 5:20 am Reply with quote Back to top

Welcome to Fasd and nice to meet you qkrtjdwls91.