Defensive driving site - your source of information and the place to share your experience
 Home    Save Gas    Forums    Encyclopedia    Articles    Polls    Videos    
Our Videos

Most Viewed Video How
How to sit properly while driving - Low Res

Latest Video Driving
Driving around slippery corner in Croatia

Highest Rated Video Driving
Driving in Moscow

Main Menu
· Home
· Articles
· Driving Links
· Encyclopedia
· Forums
· Highway Surveys
· Mapquest Driving Directions
· Video Library

Drivers Info
Welcome, Anonymous
Nickname
Password
(Register)
Drivers Online:
Visitors: 21
Member Drivers: 0
Total: 21

View unanswered posts
View next topic
View previous topic
runaway

PostPosted: Fri Jul 02, 2010 1:17 pm Reply with quote Back to top

I have been driving cars for more than 8 months now and I was proud of my driving.
I lived in a small town in Utah but never had to face any city driving. Recently I moved to Jersey and bought a new car.
2nd day of the new car, I had a minor accident, when I stopped properly on a narrow street, a car hit my car from behind and gave it a bad scratch. I had hazard lights on and was driving at no more than 2mph before stopping. Maybe I could have done better by signaling using my hand to the driver behind.

Ever since the incident, I have lost confidence in driving. I am constantly scared of somebody hitting me from back and my hands are shaking even while I am driving on open roads.
I need to be able to drive because my girlfriend is pregnant and needs frequent doctor visits.

How can I overcome the fear. It seems, the more I drive the more I become less confident in me. I am now scared to stop my car in public areas, scared to change lanes on city streets, scared of intersections.

I desperately need help. I have tried talking to my friends and family but havent been able to overcome the trauma and as days pass its getting more and more embarrassing to discuss this situation.